CUE Closes 10 Campuses Including Kisii and Laikipia University


The Commission for University Education (CUE) has ordered the closure of 10 out of 13 Kisii University campuses in the western, Nyanza and Rift Valley regions.

The commission gave the university 90 days to wind up and relocate the students to accredited campuses.

The 10 Kisii University campuses to be closed are in Eldoret, Eldama Ravine, Nyamira, Kabarnet, Migori, Ogembo, Keroka, Kehancha, Kapenguria and Isebania.

Also facing closure is Laikipia University’s campus in Nyahururu.

We Are Hiring!! Writer

In an inspection report submitted to Education Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, the 10 Kisii University campuses fell below the expected threshold.

“The commission is, therefore, considering auditing all the systems of Kisii University to ensure quality in the delivery of university education,” adds the report, compiled by CUE Chief Executive Officer David Some.

CUE said inspection of campuses in Kenya is still going on and and the agency is focusing on the central, eastern and coast regions.


A total of 11 campuses of four private universities, in addition to the main campuses, have been inspected and recognised as having met the minimum requirements for recognition.

Another 18 campuses of the seven public universities, as well as the main campuses, considered to be the seats of the universities, were audited.

Eight universities whose campuses have been given a clean bill of health and accredited are Mount Kenya University’s four campuses in Nakuru, Kisii, Eldoret and Kitale.

Others that have been accredited are Kenyatta University’s Kericho campus, Catholic University of East Africa (Eldoret), Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (Kisii campus), and St Paul University (Nakuru campus).

Campuses under review include Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (Kisumu); Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (Nakuru); Kisii University campuses in Kisumu, Kericho and Kitale; Laikipia University campuses in Nakuru, Eldoret and Naivasha; Moi University campuses in Kitale and Odera Akang’o; University of Eastern Africa-Baraton (Eldoret campus); University of Eldoret (Eldoret CBD) and University of Kabianga (Kapkatet campus).

“The universities with campuses under review have been given 90 days to address the various aspects raised in the evaluation report,” the report states.

The commission is now expected to reinspect the campuses to ascertain satisfactory evidence-based response to the various aspects raised and the unsatisfactory responses in the above-considered campuses would lead to their closure.

“Some of the universities or campuses in Nairobi County that had appealed against closure were granted up to July 30, 2016 to address the various concerns raised by the Commission or face closure,” said the brief.

A total of 56 campuses from the regions of Nairobi, Lodwar, western, Nyanza and Rift Valley were inspected in 2015.



We Are Hiring!! Writer


  1. A nice information indeed,,,comrades must get the required skills so that they can be absorbed in the job market,,i really appreciate CUE for their nice job

Comrade, Share your Thoughts Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.