Here are the List of Senators who Voted to Remove Kithure Kindiki as Senate Deputy Speaker


Tharaka Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki, was among the rising political stars in the Mt Kenya region, and was even touted as a possible running-mate for Deputy President William Ruto in 2022 after successfully outfoxing veteran politicians in the larger Meru politics.

Prof Kindiki had used his former position as Senate Majority Leader and his closeness to President Uhuru Kenyatta and Ruto to position himself as the Mt Kenya East kingpin. He was set to reap from growing demands from the Meru community that Central Kenya should support one of them for the top job.

However, today, Kindiki’s political future hangs on a thread following an impeachment motion which could see him kicked out as the Senate Deputy Speaker in an escalation of Uhuru’s purge of DP allies from key posts over divided loyalty.

Newly-elected Senate Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata has today initiated the process of Kindiki’s removal for failing to attend a Jubilee Coalition Parliamentary Group meeting where Ruto’s surrogates were shown the door last week.

“I beg to move that this House Senate resolves that Senator Kithure Kindiki be removed from the office of the Deputy Speaker,” reads the notice by Kang’ata, the Murang’a senator who has emerged as the driver of the President’s agenda warhorse in the House.

Change of loyalty

With the removal of Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchuma Murkomen as Majority Leader and Nakuru’s Susan Kihika as Majority Whip last week, Kindiki remains Ruto’s sole key ally in Senate leadership.

The move follows the careful change of loyalty to the President’s side by Speaker Ken Lusaka, who was accused of throwing Murkomen and Kihika under the bus.

Igembe North MP Maoka Maore, an ardent Uhuru ally, said the senator’s continued stance in favour of the DP as shown by his actions and the people he is associated with had placed him on a collision path with the President.

“Kindiki holds a very sensitive position and from how he has been behaving, including his decisions while presiding the House sessions, shows that he is 100 per cent Tanga Tanga. If Uhuru was looking for allies to work with, I doubt Kindiki would be one of them,” Maoka said.

The MP cited Kindiki’s recent ruling against Uhuru’s move to take over key operations of Nairobi County through the Nairobi Metropolitan Service as a move that could have angered the President.

Kindiki, following a motion by Murkomen, ordered an investigation into the President’s conduct in the take over process, and gave the matter to the Devolution and Justice and Legal Affairs committees which, are chaired by Senators  Joseph Kinyua (Laikipia) and Samson Cherargei (Nandi), both Ruto surrogates.

But Lusaka later suspended the probe whose outcome, it was feared, may have compromised the President’s decision.

Kindiki came to the limelight in 2011 when he appeared among the lead lawyers representing Uhuru and Ruto as they battled charges of crimes against humanity at the International Criminal Court at The Hague, linked to the 2007 post-election violence. It’s this effort which earned him admiration from Uhuru and Ruto’s backers, and he exploited it to win the Tharaka Nithi Senate seat on the The National Alliance (TNA) ticket.

Today, he is on the chopping board for defying the party leader’s directives and is currently being impeached by the Senate.

Here is the list of senators who signed the motion to kick out Kindiki from his seat:

  1. Yusuf Haji, Garissa
  2. Hargura Godana, Marsabit
  3. Fatuma Dulo, Isiolo
  4. Ali Abdulahi, Wajir
  5. Peter Ndwiga, Embu
  6. Githiomi Mwangi, Nyandarua
  7. Ephraim Maina, Nyeri
  8. Charles Kibiru, Kirinyaga
  9. Irungu Kang’ata, Muranga
  10. Kimani Wamatangi, Kiambu
  11. Samuel Poghisio, West Pokot
  12. Michael Mbito, Trans Nzoia
  13. Jepkoech Kamar, Uasin Gishu
  14. Gideon Moi, Baringo
  15. Johnson Sakaja, Nairobi
  16. Beth Mugo, Nairobi (nominated)
  17. Alice Chepkorir, Bomet
  18. Milicent Omanga, Nairobi (nominated)
  19. Christine Zawadi Gona, Kilifi
  20. Mary Seneta, Kajiado
  21. Falhada Dekow Iman, Garissa
  22. Naomi Jilo Wago, Marsabit
  23. Abshiro Soka Halake, Isiolo
  24. Victor Prengei, Nakuru
  25. Isaack Mwaura, Kiambu
  26. James Orengo, Siaya
  27. Rose Nyamunga, Kisumu (nominated)
  28. Beatrice Kwamboka, Nairobi (nominated)
  29. Naomi Shiyonga, Kajiado (nominated)
  30. Judith Pareno, Kajiado (nominated)
  31. Boy Issa Juma, Kwale
  32. Mohamed Faki Mwinyihaji, Mombasa
  33. Ochillo Ayacko, Migori
  34. Getrude Musuruve Kakamega (nominated)
  35. Sylvia Kasanga, Nairobi (nominated)
  36. Johnes Mwaruma, Taita Taveta
  37. Chebeni Mercy, Uasin Gishu
  38. Mutula Kilonzo Jnr, Makueni
  39. Agnes Zani, Kwale
  40. Moses Kajwang, Homa Bay
  41. Ali Haji Fahhiya, Nairobi
  42. Fred Outa, Kisumu
  43. Boniface Kabaka, Machakos,
  44. Okong’o Mogeni, Nyamira
  45. Petronilla Were, Nairobi (nominated)
  46. Enock Wambua, Kitui
  47. George Khaniri, Vihiga
  48. Samuel Ongeri, Kisii



Comrade, Share your Thoughts Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.