Live Updates: ODM Party takes on NASA Affiliate Parties in Embakasi South Elections

ODM Party and Wiper, Neto

Constituents of Embakasi South today are set to elect their preferred representative in the National Assembly in a repeat election pitting two parties which were together during the last general elections of 2017. The race will be largely between ODM Party’s Irshad Sumra and Wiper Party’s Julius Mawathe.

There are 15 candidates cleared including the above two listed by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and whose names appear on the ballot papers.

The position fell vacant after the Supreme Court revoked Julius Mawathe’s win in a petition which was filed by Orange Democratic Movement (ODM Party) candidate Sumra Irshad.

Polling materials had already been taken to 221 polling stations and the elections in a number of the stations has already kicked off.

Residents have already expressed confidence that the by-election will be peaceful.

Besides Sumra, and Wiper’s Mawathe, there is Rameshchandra Gorasia, the owner of Taj Mall in Embakasi South Constituency, which was demolished last year.

Mr. Gorasia who is closely associated with the Deputy President William Ruto’s Camp is riding on sympathy votes from some supporters after losing his mall, which the Government claimed was built on a road reserve.

Ramesh had unsuccessfully vied for the Nairobi senatorial position in the 2017 General Election on a Wiper ticket. He also was the talk of the city when Governor Sonko was on the verge of naming his Deputy following the resignation of his number two.

Other candidates include Roseline Ochuka of MTP, Urbanus Kaveva (PNU), Augustine Kavindu (GCK), Samuel Masaki (FPK), Zablon Minyonga (KNC), Alexander Mulatya (MCC), Jairus Musyoka (GDDP), Enosh Nyakweba (KSC), Agnes Nyalita (TAK), Enock Nyaribari (RLP), Peter Ogeta (PDU) and Nyamwange Oigara (JFP).

The election has opened a new line of differences between the ODM Party leader Raila Odinga and Wiper Party’s Kalonzo Musyoka who have been marshalling up support for their respective candidates while tarnishing each other’s character following the January 30th 2018 fallout which was as a result of the much-hyped swearing-in ceremony at Uhuru Park and the subsequent handshake between the former Prime Minister and President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The Jubilee Party on its part said that it will not field a candidate for the by-election in the spirit of the new-found unity through the Building Bridges Initiative. However, some of its members including Moses Kuria have thrown their weight behind Julius Mawathe.

Keep it here for live updates on elections results as they trickle in.

#ReelNationalNews #ReelPolitics



Comrade, Share your Thoughts Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.