Uhuru Asks Court to Jail Kilifi Deputy Governor for 10 Years for Spreading COVID-19

dDP Ruto, Murkomen, Uhuru, COVID-19, Lockdown, Ruto, Coronavirus

President Uhuru Kenyatta has revealed that he ordered the arrest of Kilifi Deputy Governor Gideon Saburi for what he termed as carelessness in how he conducted himself upon returning from a Germany trip.

In an interview on a local vernacular radio station Tuesday morning, Mr Kenyatta said he hoped that the Kilifi County leader gets 10 years in jail for his negligence amid the Covid-19.

“I am the one who said that the Kilifi Deputy Governor should be arrested… I am praying that he gets 10 years,” he said.

“How can a leader fly from Germany and start infecting people in Nairobi and Kilifi?” he wondered, adding that his position of power would not insulate him from the consequences of his actions.


The president also said that bills incurred by people who get infected in the course of duty will be taken over by the government.

Soon we shall have enough protective gear for all hospitals,” he said.

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday, announced Kenya’s strictest measures yet to curb the spread of the Coronavirus disease (Covid-19) within the country that sparked a national debate.

In his statement, the president announced: “That there shall be cessation of all movement by road, rail or air in and out of the Nairobi Metropolitan Area; and the counties of Kilifi, Kwale, and Mombasa.”


This raised the question of whether or not this constituted a lockdown within the counties that were highlighted as high-risk areas.

The statement that followed also caused speculation that indeed the president was locking down the major urban centres.

“The cessation of movement within Nairobi Metropolitan Area shall be for an initial containment period of 21 days; with effect from 7 p.m. on Monday, April 6, 2020,” he stated.

However, the president himself made it clear during his presser that the measure would only restrict movement in and out of the specified counties without negating negate the existing dusk-to-dawn curfew (7 p.m. to 5 a.m.) and that movement within other counties would continue subject to the curfew.

“The movement within the Nairobi Metropolitan Area and the Counties of Kilifi, Kwale, and Mombasa shall continue subject to the nationwide curfew,” President Uhuru stated.

Nairobi Metropolitan Area

He then went on to define what he meant by ‘Nairobi Metropolitan Area, as it included at least 3 other counties.

“The Nairobi Metropolitan Area is designated as Nairobi City County, part of Kiambu County up to Chania River Bridge (Thika), including RironiNdenderuKiambu Town;

Part of Machakos County up to Athi-River, including Katani; Part of Kajiado County including KitengelaKiserianOngata Rongai and Ngong Town; and all other areas as set out in the order,” he elaborated.

“These additional measures do not in any way vary the existing restrictions and measures, including the daily Nationwide Curfew from 7:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m., in the entire territory of the Republic of Kenya,” he further clarified.

Food Supplies

He then made it clear that the movement of food supplies and other cargo would continue as normal during the declared containment period through road, railway, and air.

Amidst the confusion and debate that followed the president’s latest directive, his Chief Of Staff Nzioka Waita, issued the following statement;

“Movement within the Nairobi Metro Area as defined in the Legal gazette notice is permitted subject to the existing curfew, wearing of face masks & social distancing. What is prohibited is movement in to & out of the gazetted area for the period of 21 days effective 7.00 p.m.”



Comrade, Share your Thoughts Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.